News: Go to the front page portal to create a Torchmodders account | Visit the wiki!
December 14, 2018, 11:52:41 AM
collapse

Information

Please contribute to our

Having problems logging in to the forums? Go the front page, log out and back in again.

Author Topic: Questions about basic engine functionalities (e.g. Is this possible?)  (Read 443 times)

Offline Heathen

• Common
    • View Profile
I've been developing a mod for around 8-9 months now, and have around 500 hours of experience reverse engineering a basic understanding of Skill Design.

I'm heavily inspired by games like Path of Exile, Diablo 2 (And the MedianXL mod for it), and considering i'm not using the standard formula for Class Building, there are certain functions within those games that are analogous to what I want to develop. Considering i'm self taught, i've not been able to find particular functionalities that i'm interested in using.

I would be interested in knowing if the following is possible (a simple yes/ no will suffice, but elaboration and explanation is definitely welcome and appreciated);

• Can I make certain skills within the skill tree disable others? So both skills cannot be invested into?
  • Can I make specific Unique Items affect the way certain skills work? For instance, an Item that would make a Fireball skill launch 3 Fireballs instead of 1?
  • Can I make Skills on the Skill Tree Synergize (grant other bonuses) to other skills in the way Diablo 2 does?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Viz

• Lowkey Modder
  • Unique
    • status sleep
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood undecided
Re: Questions about basic engine functionalities (e.g. Is this possible?)
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2018, 01:17:12 PM »
Welcome to TorchModders, Heathen  :)

I'll try to answer your questions.

1) Probably not possible. Instead you can make it this way e.g if skill A is active, skill B cannot be activated. Both skills can still be invested though.
2) No idea.