collapse

* Important


The forum and all threads have been locked, but are still available for browsing.  There is more information about this here.


The

Is still open for article contributions.

Author Topic: What free software do you guys use?  (Read 2375 times)

Offline Rhythmier

  • Enchanted
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
What free software do you guys use?
« on: January 11, 2020, 02:44:04 am »
Well it seems a bit inappropriate to ask for free software, but I'm back to learn more about modding and I'm determine this time I want to mod Items with custom looks too (which my mod Lightbringer severely lacked), but I'm not ready to invest into programs that I have absolutely no idea what it does and how they all different. I should explain that I have Zero Knowledge on this subject and I'm starting from 0, I don't wanna buy some program just to learn that it wasn't what I wanted all the while.

I've been browsing through the website and notice a few post back in 2014 to suggest GIMP, but I can't get the plugin to work for the DDS. It seems overwhelming for me currently, do you guys have any tutorial or advise to give regarding this subject? Enough for me to mess with Icons and Item texture will do.  :-[

Offline Awkward

  • Common
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Country: ru
    • status idle
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood sad
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2020, 05:26:15 am »
DDS os simple format. at least, you can use free soft to convert it to any other format, edit and after, convert back. isn't it?
last time, i don't use graph editors. But tried GIMP some time ago.
i used Libre Office for text and tables more often really. And IrfanView  to look pictures.
hmm. people wrote what Paint.net and GIMP must "eat" DDS
telegram: @Awk_ward
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/awkward.im

Offline Phanjam

  • Operator
  • Legendary
  • *
  • Posts: 2,751
  • Country: ph
    • status ready
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood angel
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2020, 04:50:45 pm »
Hey Awkward, did u mean that paint.net can "use" dds? You are right it can work with dds without extra plugins.

Rythmier paint.net might be a good choice for you. Its free and its a very capable program. Personally i use gimp and i love it



Offline Rhythmier

  • Enchanted
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2020, 05:56:21 pm »
Hmm.... I'm at total lost here. I was trying to create a complete new item (as in my case, a shoulder) as practice, but seems like I'm totally clueless. The best I can do now is clone an item and mess around with it Affixes. I wanna give it custom skin as well as different sets too.

Guess I still have much to learn  :(


Offline Phanjam

  • Operator
  • Legendary
  • *
  • Posts: 2,751
  • Country: ph
    • status ready
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood angel
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2020, 03:48:18 am »
Hi @Rhythmier . If youre cloning/editing an existing shoulder .DAT thats the fastest way to do it.
For a differrent texture u can just clone/edit the vanilla texture, save it with a diff name but inside ur mod folders follow the same directory path as the original. Then use the new texture filename in your edited item .DAT.

Oh and drop by the tm discord ;) it will be easier ti give u quick answers there
« Last Edit: January 12, 2020, 03:57:58 am by Phanjam »



Offline Rhythmier

  • Enchanted
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2020, 09:58:05 am »
@Phanjam Hmm.... Okay, I've tested it and saw what you mean. But in DAT file I notice shoulders and helm doesn't have the texture string like this

<STRING>TEXTURE:media/wardrobe/_lvls41_50/forest_01/hu_forest_01_boots.png
      <STRING>SET:BOOTSSTANDARD

So how do I change those texture for these items?

Offline Awkward

  • Common
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Country: ru
    • status idle
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood sad
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2020, 10:31:07 am »
i thinked, texture presents in *.MATERIAL or *.LAYOUT files usually
telegram: @Awk_ward
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/awkward.im

Offline Kva3imoda

  • Developer
  • Legendary
  • *
  • Posts: 1,079
  • Country: ru
    • status ready
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood cool
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2020, 11:34:54 am »
The new GIMP works with DDS textures by default.

Offline Phanjam

  • Operator
  • Legendary
  • *
  • Posts: 2,751
  • Country: ph
    • status ready
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood angel
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2020, 03:16:03 pm »
 @Rhythmier , @Awkward is on the right track. Textures for Helmets and shoulders are defined only in their .material files. So for these items u will have to clone+edit a .material for them. In the new .material you can define their new texture file.

Thing is, a .material is always paired with its own .mesh. So now u will need to clone+edit the .mesh for it too. Editing is actually just changing the file name to match your new .material. so if you have "mycustomhelmet1.material" u should also have "mycustomhelmet1.mesh". All 3 new files, the .material, the .mesh and the texture for them, should all be in the same directory under MEDIA/MODELS. The unit .DAT can then call just the .mesh using your custom filepath/filename.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2020, 03:23:40 pm by Phanjam »



Offline Phanjam

  • Operator
  • Legendary
  • *
  • Posts: 2,751
  • Country: ph
    • status ready
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood angel
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2020, 03:29:12 pm »
If u like, u can also look inside the TL1CP mod for the way the Wastelander and Earthshaker armor sets for the destroyer are setup; they use this method exactly.



Offline Rhythmier

  • Enchanted
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2020, 06:59:07 am »
@Awkward @Phanjam
Hmm.... Okay I'll look into it during this weekend, btw how do you edit MATERIAL file? I can't open it with either Orge Mesh or GIMP?

@Kva3imoda That's good to know  :D

Offline Awkward

  • Common
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Country: ru
    • status idle
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood sad
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2020, 09:22:09 am »
did you tried to use usual text editor?
PS. i don't creating mods, i just wrote program for localizators and trying to translate some mods to russian now.
telegram: @Awk_ward
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/awkward.im

Offline Anarch16sync

  • The Ripper
  • Developer
  • Legendary
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 564
  • Country: ar
  • Back on track
    • status study
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood evil
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2020, 12:29:38 am »
Here is a short list of programs:

3D modelling - Blender 2.76 ( Version 2.8 lacks a working import/export plugin for the moment)

Photo editing - Gimp (lastest version has dds import/export build into it)

Text editing - anything works but I like Notepad++

Aaaand that's most of the free stuff. Then you just want the right plugins.

Offline Phanjam

  • Operator
  • Legendary
  • *
  • Posts: 2,751
  • Country: ph
    • status ready
    • View Profile
  • Mood: mood angel
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2020, 12:30:02 am »
@Awkward @Phanjam
Hmm.... Okay I'll look into it during this weekend, btw how do you edit MATERIAL file? I can't open it with either Orge Mesh or GIMP?

@Kva3imoda That's good to know  :D
Hey @Rhythmier . .MATERIAL files can be edited like a text file. U can open it in Notepad.exe for example, but the free Notepad++ is a more capable tool for modding.



Offline Rhythmier

  • Enchanted
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: What free software do you guys use?
« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2020, 05:50:09 pm »
Guys quick question, how do you create a new "set bonus" like Unearthly or Mondonís Vestment you get from items? I tried to make a new one from Item Set Editor and applied it to the item on the set bonus column, but it just won't happened. I tried using existing one and it worked just fine. What am I missing?

@Anarch16sync That's very useful, thanks a bunch!
@Phanjam @Awkward Right, got right into it now and am working on it already, thanks!

Tags:
 

Our host and sponsor

* Quick Search


* Mod Boards Activity

* Popular Topics