News: Go to the front page portal to create a Torchmodders account | Visit the wiki!
November 15, 2018, 06:48:50 AM
collapse

Information

Please contribute to our

Having problems logging in to the forums? Go the front page, log out and back in again.

Author Topic: Looking for Modder to Collaborate on Character Design  (Read 774 times)

Offline Exqzr

• Common
    • View Profile
Looking for Modder to Collaborate on Character Design
« on: October 15, 2018, 11:10:48 PM »
I would like to first thank all of the modders for their great work.

I recently started playing Torchlight again and have appreciated a large number of the mods, especially the new playable characters.

I had a character(s) design idea but my skills in modding would be exactly zero.  Wondering if I did the lore, skill design and most of the playtesting, if anyone would do the much harder part of coding it.  I know this is a labour of love for most of you but I would be willing to make the first donation for your work.  The credit and ownership would be yours as well.

The idea centres around core archetypes with specializations.  Each specialization would be very thematic and relevant to Torchlight Lore (or at least implied lore).

For example, if one archetype was Warrior.  This would specialize into Janissary, Sturmbeorn or Regent (to name a few possible).  At level 1 the Warrior has full access to 1 tab of 7 active and 3 passive skills, these would be generic warrior type skills.  Then, at level 20 (TBD) the player can activate one of the specialty trees displayed in tabs 2 through 4.   Another 10 skills are then opened.  Once a specialty is selected, the other 2 are not available.

The 5th and final tab is how the speciality is selected.  Choosing a specialty will give immediate and direct benefits relevant to the specialty and if possible, maybe even alter and buff the initial Warrior skills that were chosen.